December 5, 1955
Lauderdale County United Fund, Inc. articles of incorporation filed by Clyde W. Anderson, certified as President.

July 15, 1958
United Fund of Colbert County, Inc. was incorporated. Gorman Jones was Chairman and Wilder Watts was Secretary of the Board of Control.

August 11, 1971
Amendments to Articles of Incorporation (above) provided that “in case of dissolution (of Colbert & Lauderdale County United Funds; separate actions) residual assets (shall be) turned over to one or more organizations which are themselves exempt... (and) shall in that event be used for and devoted to the purposes of carrying on a non-profit purpose...”

April 5, 1974
United Way of Lauderdale County, Inc. Name changed by amending Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws. Signatories are Wayne D. Rutledge, President, and Charles L. Frederick, Jr., Secretary, prepared by Arnold Teks and notarized by Arlene C. Wisdom.

April 25, 1974
United Way of Colbert County, Inc. Name changed by Amendments to Articles of Incorporation and Constitution. Signatories include Billy Don Anderson, President, and George Williams, Secretary. William T. Johnson, Jr. prepared and notarized the document.

November 3, 1981
United Way of Franklin County, Inc. Articles of Incorporation filed by Horace Sanders, David Walters and Michael Maddox “to assure by means of leadership and action that the people of Franklin County are continually provided with an efficient and effective network of human care services…”

March 23, 1984
United Way of the Shoals Area, Inc. Formed by consolidation of separate United Ways of Colbert and Lauderdale counties. Signatories:

  • Colbert Lauderdale
  • Ronald C. Meeks, President
  • Charles E. Moore, President
  • Frank J. Donsbach, Sec.
  • Tyler Calhoun, Sec.

(Action toward consolidation began in February, using the interim name of “United Ways of Colbert and Lauderdale Counties,” with Robert M. Guillot as President and William H. Martin III as Secretary.)

September 17, 2001
United Way of Northwest Alabama, Inc. Formed by merger of United Way of Franklin County, Inc. with and into United Way of the Shoals Area, Inc. The merger agreement prepared and notarized by Tim Corley, Attorney at Law is signed by:

  • Shoals Franklin
  • Mickey Haddock, President
  • Gena Habig, Chief Volunteer
  • Lowell Held, Board Member
  • Kenny Hurst, Volunteer
  • Bill Lucas, Board Member
  • Ben Guyton, Volunteer